Breaking Hernando county news, local sports and events, and weather from Hernando Today | | Hernando Today
Sunday, Mar 29, 2015

Hernando High hosts county-wide poetry competition

Hernando Today staff report

View allPage 1 of 2 | Next page

Page 2 of 2 | View all Previous page

BROOKSVILLE - Hernando High School is inviting adult, and middle and high school writers to join them and the Royal Writer's Organization in a poetry competition April 4 to commemorate Children's Week and Poetry Month.

The poetry competition will be held at Hernando High School on Friday, April 4 at 6:30 p.m. in the school's auditorium.

Poets are asked to have three poems ready for competition: a Haiku, Didactic, and Free Verse.

Special guest poets will appear, and middle and High School students will be judged separately, according to the school.

Admission is $2 for students and children under 12 years of age and $3 for adults.

Hernando County Instructional staff who show ID at the door will receive free admission, the school said. Vendors are also welcome to display.

For more information contact Beverly Cable, Royal Writer's Community Coordinator at (352) 592-4606 or by email at

In other Hernando High news, two Hernando High students took first and second place during this year's District History Fair.

Calvin Hecker won first place in the Historical Papers category and Isaiah Gibson won second place in the Individual Web Page category, according to the school.

Hecker and Gibson will compete at the state competition in Tallahassee in May.

Nine students also placed in this year's Distributive Education Clubs of America, or DECA, district competition.

The school honored DECA members Aliyah Brown (1st place), Miranda Bryant (2nd place), Devin Elliott (1st place), Drake Middlebrook (1st place), K'Hili Jones (1st place), Gabrielle Cohen (1st place), Marquan Norman (2nd place), Jaziana Mathis (2nd place), and Jolene Sauceda (1st place).

These students will compete at the DECA State Convention this March.

Seven Hernando High students also placed in this year's district Future Business Leaders of America, or FBLA competition.

The school recognized the following FBLA members: David Adams (Business Communications/4th place), Shannon Fry (Business Communications/3rd place), Monte Wilson (Introduction to Business/3rd place), Tatayana Brown (Introduction to Business/5th place), Clay Everett (Public Speaking I/2nd place), Jada Bergstrom (Public speaking II/3rd place), Kimberly Ralph (Spreadsheet Applications/ 2nd place).

View allPage 1 of 2 | Next page

Page 2 of 2 | View all Previous page

Trending Now